First Day Backitis…

It doesn’t matter how much one enjoys teaching, the first day back is a real grind.

Many of us find that we’re there, wide awake, at 3am thinking about all of the jobs waiting for us at our desks or in our classrooms. Even once we’re at school, it isn’t always plain sailing. Take today, for instance. I got into school, took my laptop out of my bag, whipped out the five year seven books I just could face marking in the holidays and promptly realised that all my lessons for the day were on my memory stick.

At home.

That’s a typical first day for me. I’m just not in the swing of it before I arrive.

Whilst I wake up groggy and don’t want to go in, once the classroom door shuts on me and my class it just  feels right. It’s almost like the holidays didn’t happen. I realise that I’ve missed all of the little faces in front of me, their noise, chaos and charm, and am genuinely glad to see them. I want to be there.

That’s the reminder that makes day two of term so much sweeter.

The reminder that cures my first day backitis every time.

What  cures your first day backitis?

Leave a Reply